About Us

Privately owned by the Talbot-Ponsonby family since 1842 with a short break of 25 years, Langrish House is the home of the 6th generation.

The House and it’s setting, and it’s beautiful grounds are stunning with a small lake in the narrow valley below.

There are 12 individually decorated en-suite bedrooms and four public rooms suitable for special occasions - the Drawing Room, the Old Vaults, the large panelled Talbot Room, the Garden Room and , outside, the Old Bothy, overlooking the flower gardens and the lake.

Whether visiting for an overnight stay, a weekend away to ‘replenish the batteries’ or hiring the entire house and its gardens for exclusive use for a wedding or family get together, Langrish House is ideal to visit, throughout the year.

Langrish House lies in the heart of the South Downs National Park, at the head of the Meon Valley close to the market town of Petersfield 2 ½ miles away and easily accessible off the London / Portsmouth A3(M) motorway.

The popular Cathedral cities of Winchester, Portsmouth and Chichester are all within easy distance.

Image
The garden of the delightful Petersfield wedding venue

Our History

A much loved family home, Langrish House is a Historic Manor House dating from the 1640’s although there has been a House on the site since the Domesday Book in Norman times..

The Old Vaults beneath the House were dug by Royalist prisoners captured at the Battle of Cheriton in 1644 .
Sheep farmers occupied the house for a period and over the years used the lake to wash the sheep’s wool in preparation for market.

The present owner’s family acquired the house and Home Farm in 1842, built on a huge wing, acquired more farms and planted the slopes around the lake below the House, with specimen trees. Nigel is the great, great, great, grandson and he and his wife live here today.
It’s heyday as a family home came under the tenure of Charles William and Constance Louisa Talbot-Ponsonby; they were married in 1868 and brought up 7 children at Langrish.

Our Family Life

Family archives paint a picture of a jolly, bustling life centred around horses, dogs, cats, chickens and outdoor sports.

There were musical recitals, plays, croquet on the lawn, sad partings, joyful homecomings, journeys abroad, huge house parties for Goodwood and great celebrations such as Queen Victoria’s Diamond Jubilee in 1897.

During the 1939-45 World War the House was requisitioned by the War Office and a large number of New Zealand troops were billeted at Langrish.
A picture in the House, of their Prime Minister, Peter Fraser, shows him reviewing his troops in the front drive.

The range of old Stables next door became a factory for the war effort where munitions and parts for the Spitfire aircraft were manufactured deep in the heart of the Hampshire countryside.

In the 1960’s the mould for the iconic nose cone for the Concorde aircraft was made in the factory by the present owner’s father, a talented engineer who on the death of his own father in 1937 established a world class mould and tool making engineering works employing, at its zenith, some 160 personnel.

Nigel at Langrish House, best B & B in Hampshire

Langrish House in the 19th Century

Langrish House in the 17th Century

Contact

Social

Image
Image
© 2020 LANGRISH HOUSE LIMITED | Registered Company Number: 03494266 | Website Design By Digital House